Some people think that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school while others believe childrens should not start until secondary school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A group of individuals present the view that learning a foreign language should be begun in elementary school, while others believe that it should be taught in secondary school. I strongly agree with the former argument. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that if schools want to teach another language to pupils, it should be carried out from an early age. They reasonably explain that research findings confirm that the true accent and concepts of foreign languages can be more effectively learned in primary schools. For example, one of my cousins, who started learning French when he was six years old, speaks much more fluently compared with my older brother, who had been learning when he was fifteen. While my brother struggles to convey his notion, my cousin communicates with French people without any effort. On the one hand, another group claims that moral and social values are more important than learning another language and should be taken into consideration for elementary pupils. They firmly insist that it can be postponed until secondary school, as obtaining soft skills, teamwork, critical thinking, and interpersonal skills, for instance, are of immense significance and should be taken into account at elementary schools. However, I do not find this argument convincing, because teaching languages not only does not interrupt teaching soft skills but also fosters them, as kids who benefit from speaking other languages can interact with peers from around the world, which can efficiently expand their interpersonal skills. To conclude, in my view, it is through primary school that students should become familiar with foreign languages. In my opinion, those who incorporate foreign languages at an early age are more likely to benefit from both language and soft skills.