Governments should focus their spending on public services rather than on the arts (eg. Music and painting). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that governments should prioritize public service funding over subsidies for the arts, including music and painting. I completely agree with this statement, as public services often have more direct and measurable effects on societies than the arts, which should be funded by private companies. First of all, public services are likely to generate tangible, positive results on a social scale. The prioritization of public services means that there are evidently increasing numbers of well-improved public facilities and infrastructure, like schools or hospitals, which eventually leads to higher literacy rates as well as better healthcare systems, respectively. Those examples are clear indicators of practical success, which soon improves the living standards of all individuals regardless of background and income. By contrast, although the arts have certain visible contributions to the national economy, their impacts are of less importance compared to the aforementioned effects of public works due to their abstract and subjective features. Secondly, private firms should be the major investors in the arts to reduce the pressure on the state’s budget. To be specific, governments primarily get their budget from taxes, competing from the incomes of private corporations, individuals and the prices of both domestic and imported products. However, such an enormous amount of money can be considered limited, only adequate for competing priorities, including public facilities for the military. Therefore, the majority of arts funding should be the responsibility of private companies with a strong interest in art and the ability to be flexible and innovate in their expenditures for advertisements and artists such as composers or singers. In conclusion, it appears to me that the arts should receive less funding from governments than public services because of their less essential impacts on the whole society and their suitability for private companies to alleviate government expenditures.