In many countries, childhood obesity is a growing problem. What are the reasons for this and what can individuals and governments do to tackle the problem?

Obesity is becoming a global health concern, particularly to children. Though there are several reasons leading to this trend, the government can do so much to counteract this problem. The rate of overweight children is continually increasing in this modern society. One major factor that influences this trend is lifestyle. The way a family lives contributes a lot to the eating habits of young family members. For instance, if both parents are busy working, they tend to rely on easy-to-cook meals and fast food deliveries rather than healthy home-cooked meals to feed their children. Practically, these meals are time-saving and undeniably delicious and satisfying. However, they have high salt content and considerable amount of preservatives which in the long run may build up unnecessary fats. As a result, children and even adults become unnoticeably heavier each day. Another culprit is the school's academic focus, students are loaded with school work and tasks nowadays, and as a result, physical education is regarded as irrelevant. There are myriad solutions that can resolve this problem, first, the government should widely emphasize the educational campaign on important nutrition as well as the risks of obesity not just at the family level but most importantly in schools. For example, a routine nutritional assessment practice on every campus for early identification and intervention of high-risk students. Second, additional tax should be implemented on junk meals to limit consumer purchases. Finally, governments should collaborate with other stakeholders such as private and nongovernment companies to promote a work-life balance atmosphere in the community. This strategy will provide time for families to gather at home, cook and eat their meals together rather than constantly rushing to fast food chains. In conclusion, the emerging problem of child obesity may pose serious problems and the government should strictly implement measures to address the worsening concerns in child health.