Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Various nations around the world have mandatory services for adolescents after graduating from school. In recent years, there has been a debate on whether all countries should make national duty obligatory and require both genders to enlist. However, while I believe that countries should make conscription necessary, I do not agree that all females should be made to serve. Firstly, national service is not only crucial for a nation's defence and security, but also for one's character development and increased maturity during the transition from boy to adulthood. The training that servicemen go through equips them with the knowledge and skills to defend themselves in times of crisis. In Singapore military training, men go through various types of preparation, including building on physical fitness, weapon handling, and basic combat skills. These are all helpful during disasters and emergencies. Moreover, working together with other boys and facing challenges helps cultivate a sense of teamwork, discipline, problem-solving, and resilience. These values are all essential to one's future. However, there are too many disadvantages as to why women should not be required to serve the state. One of those drawbacks is that if females, alongside men, enlist in the military, there will be a shortage of manpower in other industries. Over the long term, it will impose a great cost, not only on women themselves, but also on their families, children and spouses, and society as a whole. The Straits Times has mentioned that the Government does not believe that the cost is justified to send a signal or to reverse stereotypes. In conclusion, martial assistance brings about various benefits to not only society, but to individuals as well. However, forcing women to join the army may hinder the development of the state and their livelihood.