Some people believe that modern technology, such as the internet and smartphones, creates more problems than it solves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some individuals think that technology from the modern era, like the internet and smartphones, is creating more issues than it is resolving. I completely agree with this statement because people ’s mental health is suffering, and, also, people don’t enjoy their free time as much as they used to. First of all, modern technology is negatively affecting the mental health of many individuals. This is because an essential aspect of good mental health is processing what happens to us, particularly any negative experiences. However, with modern technology, many people don’t take any time to reflect on their lives and instead spend all of their available time on the internet or watching television. These days, for instance, most customers in supermarket queues look at something on their phones, whereas before this technology, they had no option but to think about whatever came to mind. Another drawback is the way that this technology has hindered how much people enjoy their leisure time. Passing the time with modern technology, such as phone apps or video games, requires minimal effort but are not as enjoyable or rewarding as hobbies such as playing a sport or gardening, which were more popular in the past. For example, in my family, most members had various outdoor pursuits that they did in the evenings, but now, it’s more common to see them sitting inside the house on their phones. In conclusion, I agree that the advent of modern technology has created more issues than it has solved because of the decline in mental health that it has brought about and the resulting lack of enjoyment that people experience in their free time.