In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

The increased number of ageing people in society leads some people to believe that they impose a huge financial burden on society. Considering the contribution they made and the stimulation they have to young people, I hold the view that the ageing population brings more good than harm. To begin with, the contributions the elderly people make, both tangible and intangible, are an evident benefit to society. First, experience and knowledge can be passed from the older generation to the young directly, ensuring there is no science and technology gap between generations. Second, the fact that having a number of ageing population indicates societal development in many areas such as medical and retirement systems, allows young people to trust the government. In other words, they believe that they can also enjoy welfare after their retirement and, therefore would be willing to contribute to society. Admittedly, a voice may arise that significant financial pressure is placed to take care of the ageing group. Ironically, another contribution of the old people is the tax revenue they paid during their long working period, which covers the majority of their costs after retirement. In addition, the rise of the ageing group also brings financial benefits due to the fact they tend to consume commodities and services, boosting the economy in a considerable way. For example, various companies are targeting the market of ageing people, producing devices for health monitoring and disease prediction. That is to say, the old people ought not to be regarded as a burden to society since they are playing an imperative role in a country's economy. In conclusion, the fact that people tend to live longer brings advantages to the economy and converts positive information to the next generations, stimulating them to dedicate themselves to societal progression and enjoy their retirement one day. They deserve careful treatment from the whole society.