Since people can study through the internet, schools have become unnecessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the rapidly evolving world, whether the existence of traditional schools is indispensable becomes a significant topic of debate. While some people argue that the existence is not necessary, I disagree with this idea and I tend to believe that schools provide valuable platforms for learners in terms of their unique atmosphere, structured curriculum and opportunities to take part in group activities. Therefore, I would argue that they are irreplaceable. On the one hand, studying online has several benefits which are undeniable. To begin with, it is easy to access plenty of learning materials for learners from websites. To be more specific, learners could find resources quickly by typing the requirements in the digital resource centre, which is time-saving. For example, they can find plenty of advanced learning materials to polish their language proficiency on YouTube compared to studying English on campus only. Meanwhile, students could get some real-time updates and feedback from other learners. This interactive nature of learning motivates them to spend more time and energy delving into the chosen field of their study, contributing to an improved learning outcome. At the same time, online courses are not limited by location, which means it is possible for any scholar to access knowledge in any place and at any time, equipping them with more flexibility. Conversely, the advantages provided by schools cannot also be underestimated. Firstly, schools can provide students with a systematic curriculum, which can be used to improve the efficiency of absorbing knowledge and help them to have a better understanding of what they learned due to the assistance of teachers and other learners. Furthermore, not only could they learn from books but they can make progress in other aspects by asking their teammates for help, and taking part in activities such as volunteering work or club activities, which could enhance their communication abilities and cultivate their sense of cooperation. For example, when they cooperate with other teammates to complete a presentation at school, they may encounter conflicts and learn how to resolve these disputes and cooperate with others, which cannot be obtained online. In conclusion, it is true that studying online does have some advantages, but they do not outweigh the benefits of school entities because online learning puts extreme emphasis on the self-discipline of students, which is absent in most learners. Therefore, I would contend that schools are still indispensable in spite of the ever-changing advancements in technology.