Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is considered by some people that the cause for studying second language is a way to travel or work in overseas while there are others who think there are some reasons why individuals should learn another language. While language courses develop exposure to school children, I believe additional language is the passport to enter in the receiving country for different purposes. On one hand, students in school enjoy to learn different languages. This is because they want to explore certain things which makes them unique and happy. It is important to them because some of them would want to be foreign language tutors, some pupils want to have pen pals and participate in language competitions hence it needs good communication skills. A good example of myself is when I was at the Elementary school, I was part of a French drama scene and we made to it the final.The finale was held in France we were competing with another French native school. I was able to mix and mingle with French people and some of them are my friends. Today, I speak the language very fluent despite the fact that I communicate with my mother tongue everyday. On the other hand, some people acquire knowledge in foreign language as part of visa application to go abroad. This is vital for the received country as their norm and value to have an idea of their language.Moreso, this is for better communication verbally and written hence they would be able to understand each other. Take, for example IELTS, a migrant worker cannot pass through the boarder without English exams cerficate for Britain. It is compulsory to have such documents because they present everything in English. In conclusion, people go to school for additional language because it is part of the job or travel requirements. Children are fond of languages for the sake of their entertainment.