In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting a university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

A gap year has been a topic of discussion of parents and students for years. In some nations, young students graduationg high school are encouraged to work or take their time off to travel for a year before furthering their higher education. Personally, there are both benefits and drawbacks for those who decide to take a break for a year. The advantages and disadvantages are to be elaborated with reasons to support. To start with, a year time for traveling gives young people wider perspectives. They will become grown ups with experieces from their travels. It is believed that gaining more experience cannot be done unless those dare to go out to the world. Young people are full of energy and are eager to learn or perceive new knowledge. Depite the fact that new knowlegde can be learned from the intternet, they not only gain but also share to new people they know, which can also increase their connections and interpersonal skills with people from different backgrounds. Also, some can gain some money from their traveling as they work and save some for their studies after their gap year. Nonetheless, this may hinder them from furthering their studies. In the worst case, they could end up working somewhere instead since the pay is so appealing to them that their studies and degress could be put aside. In addition, some parents could experience the great loss when the accident could occur to those young chidren. The bad news may have been heard and seen regualry regular through media that young children loose their lives during their trip in another countries. This may be regarded as the incident that ma hardly happen, but this is considered the factor that makes those young students end their future education in the higher level. In conclusion, some parents love the idea to let their children travel for a year before commencing the university. Doing so could come up with advantages and disadvantages: money gained for their furture studies and new experiences that cannot be found in their countries; yet some unexpected situations may occur, making their future in the pursuit if higher education short.