Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? Solutions to change negative attitudes

It is widely argued that global tourism has a negative impact on destination resorts and countries. While there is a strong case for this view, solutions must be applied to resolve some of the serious issues which have arisen. There are two primary reasons why local residents often consider international tourism as a cause of serious problems in their countries. One reason is that it may have an adverse impact on traditional customs and indigenous practices, because tourists may be insensitive towards the feelings of local residents. For example, some western holidaymakers visiting developing Southeast Asian countries may be rowdy or wear unsuitable clothes, which might have an undesirable influence on local young people who copy immodest or provocative behaviour and fashions. Another reason is that tourists often pollute or litter beauty spots and several famous beaches in Vietnam, such as Cua Lo and Sam Son, have been spoiled by this lack of respect for the local environment. Measures must be taken by governments and international bodies to change negative attitudes. Firstly, the undoubted economic benefits of international tourism for local economies ought to be more widely promoted through the official media. International tourists spend money in shops and restaurants and create jobs in service industries and this aspect must be publicised. At the same time, tourist agencies should urge visitors to respect the local customs and culture of their hosts. Secondly, bodies such as the World Tourism Organisation must enforce strict regulations on the tourism industry, ensuring that local operators are responsible for clearing litter and disposing of waste in ways that do not harm the environment, and issuing international Blue Flags to indicate clean beaches. In conclusion, only by addressing the concerns of local people will negative attitudes to international tourism be changed.