Whether immigrants should adopt the local culture has emerged as one of the most debated topics in recent decades. Some people believe they should change to keep up with a new country, while others believe keeping their own unique characteristics is the best way. In this essay, I will discuss both views and support the latter one.

Immigrant issues have become a contentious social problem within 10 years. Some citizens support that immigrants are responsible for adopting the local culture, while their opposers are against this opinion and present their own views, that outsiders need to keep their special characteristic traits. This essay deliberates both two views, and I will give my reason why support the latter one. On the one hand, learning and adapting to local culture is a better way to avoid conflict problems between immigrants and local people. This is because if a human does not have any wish to understand new things (e.g., behavior, language, and so on) from outsiders, it certainly is easy to happen any argument cases due to cultural differences. Sometimes, it even escalates into violent crime. For instance, early in Singapore, there were a quite number of criminal cases that came from the difference of religion. Therefore, avoiding violent cases has become a major reason why an increasing number of individuals have decided to support the importance of new immigrants learning local culture. On the other hand, one significant disadvantage of adopting local culture is that it may cause the disappearance of cultural diversity since with the number of people who use it decreases, some unique and valuable minority culture factors (e.g., language, behavior, festival celebration) are going to disappear. For example, the HaNi people are a minority in China, unfortunately, these people's language will be endangered, as more and more young people do not use their mother tongue; hence, avoiding the disappearance of cultural diversity is a primary reason why individuals believe that immigrants are responsible to protect their traits. Furthermore, I absolutely support the second statement, that individuals need to protect their uniqueness, as cultural diversity is a meaningful thing for human history, and these things can provide abundant materials for humanists to research and educate the next generation. Ergo, individuals ' distinctive traits have a special value for the human future. In conclusion, according to the argument that whether immigrants need to adapt to local culture or develop their personality traits, different viewers have opposite opinions about it. decreasing conflict events is the major reason for most of the supporters who believe outsiders need to learn local culture. However, their opponents believe that cultural diversity is indicative of human history, and immigrants are responsible for protecting it by keeping their unique traits. Personally, I also support the latter one.