In many countries, children today have more freedom than they used to. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The proportion of freedom provided among children has increased compared to the past in many countries and it has both advantages and disadvantages for children. I personally believe that giving freedom to children has a profound impact on the physical, and cognitive development of children. To begin with, giving children freedom has numerous advantages which is related to their personal growth and development. If they are given much freedom they can grow their own decision-making capabilities and apply them in their each sector of lives. For example, through their freedom of decision-making capabilities, they would decide which course they would choose in their school or which sports they would participate. Therefore, freedom would prepare them for their future challenges and their professional life as well. However, giving much freedom sometimes is not beneficial for children because of immaturity and tenderness of their age. For instance, at a young age, children cannot decide what is wrong and what is right. Hence, if they are given much freedom they easily become misguided and make wrong decisions. Furthermore, having much freedom can harm their academic career because they might use their valuable time for unnecessary entertainment. Therefore, although freedom is important for the growth of children, excessive freedom is sometimes harmful. To conclude, freedom is important for children and it brings positivity and development in children's lives. However, the proportion of freedom should be appropriate according to their age and development. Parents should be aware of how much independence a child is provided and how he is utilizing it.