All children should be given a free laptop when they start high school. Do you agree or disagree?

The current pace of technological developments have been of considerable impact even to the younger population and the question on every parent's mind now is should students be given their own personal laptops at the start of secondary school? This essay will explain why I agree that laptops can help them with home tasks and also assist them in building other essential life skills through exposure. It improves the efficiency with handling home tasks. With a PC that has appropriate internet connection, it is much easier to access everything and answers to various questions on the world wide web which has virtually anything that a school curriculum will require. This implies that they do not have to wait for their parents to tackle difficult home work neither do they have to use their mum or dad's device which have adult centered content and do not have to learn with only outdated textbooks that can only cater for less than 50% of the knowledge needed to handle some questions. For example, the presence of Ms office package on most modern devices today can also allow them prepare presentations,type word documents and even work on statistical tables for those in the commercial classes. For this reason, the high school scholars with free access to a computer, can be more dilligent and responsive with projects. Outside the four walls of the classrooms, students can also be equipped with essential life skills that will help broaden their horizon and even make them better exposed. There are thousands of vocational skills available to people today with the click of a button on a computer. The implication of this is more learning which ultimately, does not impose boundaries to what they can gain. For instance, a lot of girls today learn how to cook on Youtube and help assist their mothers in the kitchen, all these have been made possible because of an appropriate avenue. Thus, a good HP or Mac Book can groom children who are more independent and well varsed in necessary life skills. In conclusion, the most important thing remains, that these devices ought to be closely monitored, however, it does not mean that at the turn of year 7, every child cannot get a laptop. They should infact have this opportunity because they show better results with academic improvements and also develop new hobbies that can be life changing.