Some people think children should have the freedom to make mistakes, while other people believe that adults should prevent children from making mistakes. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It has been a widely-discussed topic for a long time how parents foster their children. Nowadays, there is a debate on whether children are allowed to make mistakes. On the one hand, some people believe that it’s children ’s freedom to make mistakes. Advocates of this opinion may consider that children can gain their creativity from making mistakes, which benefits children in their lifetime. For example, when I was in childhood, I once broke the vase carelessly at home. Rather than shout at me, my mom comforted me and ensured that I was not hurt by the sharp debris of the vase. After that, I came up with the idea that I could put the debris into a transparent glass box to make a new artwork. Surprisingly, the new decoration made of debris looked nice. My mom felt proud of my creativity and I had a sense of achievement. I knew I had made a mistake but I found my talent in creativity because of the broken vase. If I had been scolded for my mistake, I would not make such a creative box. On the other hand, other people, however, assert that adults should prohibit children from making mistakes, which helps children develop good behavioral habits. Childhood is a vulnerability window when children are easily affected by others and develop inappropriate behaviors. For example, I failed my math exam in primary school and I was afraid of telling this bad news to my mom. To avoid being criticized, I revised the mark on my score report paper. After some days, my mom found my fault and criticized me seriously. My mom told me that telling a lie is a much bigger mistake than just failing an exam. If I cheated to hide my failure in exams when I was young, I would tell a lie at work in the future. From then on, I learned to be an honest person no matter what I did. In conclusion, allowing children to make mistakes could help children improve their creativity but may induce some inappropriate behaviors in children. In my perspective, we adults should respect children ’s right to make mistakes, giving children sufficient freedom to grow up. Besides, educating children in an appropriate way is necessary when they make some mistakes related to principles.