The world is consuming natural resources faster than they can be renewed. Therefore, it is important that products are made to last. Governments should discourage people from constantly buying more up-to-date or fashionable products. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Raising fuel prices is believed to be the best solution to the planet’s environmental problem. Although this measure may reduce the amount of toxic fumes that are released into the atmosphere to some extent, I believe there are several more effective alternatives to tackle environmental issues. On the one hand, such a policy may help to lower emissions from certain modes of transport. As the price of fuel increases, commuters may resort to using public transport instead of using their own vehicles in order to save money. Moreover, drivers who are unwilling to spend more money on petrol will be encouraged to use vehicles that run on renewable and environmentally-friendly energy sources as an alternative, such as electric cars and bicycles. As a consequence, the number of privately-owned vehicles travelling on public roads would be significantly reduced, which in turn would significantly reduce the amount of carbon dioxide released into the atmosphere each year. This would effectively enhance the air quality. However, as environmental issues stem from many causes, there are several more suitable ways to address these problems. People’s lack of awareness and knowledge about such problems is one of the primary underlying issues that results in pollution. Therefore, the government must educate the public about the current state of their environment and negative lifestyles in order to reduce the long-term impacts of their ignorance. Additionally, water pollution is a severe issue in many developing countries these days and is often found downstream from industrial zones where factories discharge toxic waste without proper treatment. Such an issue requires governments to implement stricter regulations to minimize the negative health impacts and help sustain the economy. In conclusion, since each problem requires a unique solution, it is justifiable to say that increasing the price of fuel is not the single best resolution for environmental issues.