Many manufactured food and drinks contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is generally debated that sugary products which are the main reason for various deadly diseases should be priced higher to promote a healthy diet in society. However, while I believe that such an approach is effective in discouraging sweets consumption, it would have some drawbacks to the economy namely, bankruptcy and unemployment. On the one hand, most of the consumables contain massive amounts of artificial sweeteners which could possibly lead to health problems such as obesity, diabetes, and high blood pressure. Owing to this, It is necessary for the Government to expand the costs of sweet processed food in order to limit their purchase ability. In other words, expensively priced products would be less likely to be added to shopping carts by price-sensitive individuals, leaving them with other alternatives. Consequently, by revising society’s purchase behaviour towards glucose food and beverages, the rates for disorders would decrease as society becomes more fit. On the other hand, the effect that high costs have had on companies can only be seen negatively. As the public’s demand for sugar reduced, the declined sales would potentially impact the factories financially. As a result, a number of companies would go bankrupt and hundreds of workers would be jobless. Besides, job hunting would be considerably difficult in the future since job fields would be limited. To sum up, although raising the taxes on sugary products could promote a balanced consumptive behaviour to avoid different disorders, there would be chances that companies would shut down and increase the rates of fired workers.