Some people believe that it is important for young children to go to school as soon as possible. Others, however, believe that children should be allowed to stay at home and play until they are six or seven years old. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is argued whether children should start primary education as soon as possible or be left at home until they reach the age of six or seven years. Attending schools earlier than the arbitrary school- age has many advantages including enhancing the child’s social and knowledge development. For children to achieve social milestones at a normal age, they should be given a chance to intermingle with other children of the same age. In a school environment, children would be able to utilise their language to communicate and bond with fellows, and grasp different social cues. This is crucial for shaping the child’s identity in the future. For instance, a recent study published in the UK proved that children who experience going to schools as toddlers are likely to be more outspoken and confident as adults. In contrast, spending the first years of life at home could limit the children ’s social interaction and might result in a developmental delay. Another merit for schooling earlier than the already set age is: allowing teachers to spot intelligent students at younger ages. Recognising this early is beneficial for both the school and parents. The school could dedicate extra effort for those talented students to make them achieve outstanding scores at the national exams. This will not only improve the institute’s national reputation but would also allow it to compete at a global level. The parents, on the other hand, would be more motivated to provide their smart child with adequate emotional and academic support. To conclude, registering children at schools since their early years has many favourable short and long term outcomes. By doing so, children will easily catch social skills and receive the required educational needs to excel in the future.