There are an increasing number of serious crime committed each year. while some people say the best way would be to use the death penalty as deterrent, many people say that other measures will be needed. discuss both views and give opinoin.

Since the number of recorded violent crimes is increasing continuously, proponents of the death penalty believe that it might deter people from committing those crimes, while others argue that alternative solutions should be explored. It is my firm belief that enforcing executions of culprits is not the ultimate solution to tackle the atrocities committed by them, but rather a milder yet pragmatic action such as prevention programs in communities needs to be considered. On the one hand, after experiencing many felonious acts by the guilty, a number of countries have developed a radical and the most unthinkable punishment method to equalize justice in societies. Although the death penalty has been eliminated by some countries, nevertheless it exists even in countries that could be considered the centre of democracy like the USA. Bearing in mind the fact that the death penalty exists in the USA, it is still one of the most dangerous countries to live in due to a high number of mass shootings and serious crimes. I think, sustaining the death penalty without rectifying the major shortcomings in societies like exerting gun control measures, will be a futile effort to keep executing the murderers. On the other hand, some propose discerning new alternatives to overcome the rising number of major offences. As a vivid case of exploring new solutions, educating people and investing in community-based that focus on crime prevention, especially among at-risk populations are the most pertinent owing to their mass influence over culprits. Furthermore, education is one of the most important factors that has the capability to help people who might otherwise turn to crime. In conclusion, while the death penalty may be seen as a means to reduce similar crimes, I argue that the key emphasis should be on comprehensive education for the youth and the organization of community-supportive events to aid those in the highest-risk groups."