In some countries, teenagers have part-time jobs while they are still at school. What benefits does this bring for the teenager? Are there any drawbacks?

Adults are working part- time jobs and pursuing their education simultaneously. This can be seen in some parts of the world. Despite, leaving teenagers to a minimum amount of time to unwind themselves, they can learn essential money-saving skills and become better at time management and work ethics. There are numerous advantages for adolescents who are working less than 20 hours per week while studying at school. Firstly, this helps them to develop a key quality to save money by knowing its value, which in turn they become good at by acquiring this skill and using it at a later stage of their lives. For example, I was able to save for tuition fees by functioning as a Starbucks barista during my school time. Secondly, performing such duties allows one to adapt to the work culture, thereby enhancing their knowledge to learn and behave well in a professional environment. In addition, it teaches them to be punctual and value their time by trying to be productive. For instance, I was able to manage my time better between assignment completion, exam preparation, and doing a part- time job. However, there is a drawback to trying to manage the school and working even for a few hours a day. Having part- time jobs consumes the remaining hours of a day for teenagers after school, while they are left with only a few hours to finish their homework before going to bed. Thus, they have no time for relaxation and get stressed out, especially on working days. To conclude, although adults are not able to engage themselves for entertainment during weekdays, they are able to master a vital skill called financial savings and learn to be better at effective time management and work ethics. I would argue that the benefits are greater than the drawbacks.