Some people think the best way to solve the traffic congestions in cities is to provide free public transports for 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A fraction or individuals think argue that unpaid transit facilities during day and night is a top-notch remedy to prevent traffic bottlenecks. Although it could encourage people to commute through public motor vehicles, this alone cannot solve the traffic headache for a government. The main advantage of offering free municipal transport is that people will be motivated by the monetary rewards of using local buses. In light of rising fuel prices, many low income group individuals will be excited about the prospectus of saving more money by choosing government's commute vehicles. This will be also auspicious for people traveling shorter distances who avoid high fixed prices of buses and subway tickets. For example, if in Montreal travellers pay $3.50 for any stop on a bus route, it is logical for them to use their car which comsumes only few cents of gas to cover a couple of miles. However, these measures are not enough to uproot the challenges of long queues of cars at roads. It is important to educate residents about the demerits of using personal transport all the times. This could be achieved by spreading awareness about deleterious impacts of traffic, such as fatal consequences for a patient carried in an ambulance which got stuck in a traffic jam. Also, stick and carrot reward system can be used here.The perks such as tax benefits can be offered to citizens who have history of traveling more miles. For example, they could get a certificate of an annual miles travelled from their country's transport authority, and based upon substantial drop in those figues, individuals could qualify for tax deductions. In conclusion, whereas free public transport facilities could be a motivating factor for many individuals to give up their vehicles, the significance of awareness in reducing burgeoning lineups of motorvehicles motor-vehicles on streets cannot be overlooked. Therefore, I partially agree that only making buses and subway fares as priceless will not solve the vehicles bottlenecks and hurdles. I recommend that nations need to use multi-faceted approach which should also incorporate education programs.