Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowaday, the young generation decide to take a gap year between finishing high school and beginning university in order to gain work experience or to travel. In my opinion, I both agree and disagree with this trend. On the one hand, teenagers have time to relax after examinations. Finishing general education program, they have time to rest and prepare for a new journey. However, it is not enough for some people who want to have other experiences. It is the model time to take it, before returning to university as a freshman. Moreover, they also have a chance to visit somewhere and have interesting experiences. Not only arriving to new areas, meeting a lot of friends but also having a chance to be themself that are the most valuable experiences. Additionally, the youth might expand a lot of knowledge about many aspects like culture, nature, lifestyle,… Those are things that can only be obtained through realistic experiences and universities do not impart them. On the other hand, youngsters need a lot of money and time in order to start it, especially money and time. Because they are only 18 years old, expenses for activities still mainly come from asking their parents. And the generation gap is the reason why they can not fulfill it. Their parents think it is a waste of time and money. Besides, it has a lot of psychological influences that make them not want to return to school. A survey shows that most of the young who take a gap year do not return to university, instead they choose to continue working and participate in non-academic life. Finally, this experience creates a trend for other young people who are not aware of this. Among them, there are many people who are not properly aware of the problem. Some teenagers might be distracted from studying because they under-estimate the importance of education. In conclusion, I not only agree but also disagree with the youth opt to take a gap year out after finishing general education and preparing to go to university. Since they can gain a lot of experiences, it is not easy for them to keep track with educational life.