The number of people being sent to prison is increasing year by year. While some people believe prison is the best way to tackle crime, others suggest that community service is more successful.”

As the world becomes well adapted to globalization and modernization, the crime rates are also soaring than never before which results in a drastic increase in the population in the prisons. To diminish the rate of crimes in society, some argue that prison is the ultimate solution, and others contrarily, suggest that community services would be more appropriate. Both of the aforementioned will be discussed by elaborating on the negative sides involved with the influences that will be obtained in prisons and the moral benefits of social services. On one hand, some believe that captivity is the key to be mitigating crimes. Indeed, capturing criminals and keeping them in a cramped room will not facilitate reducing the crimes. In opposite to that, individuals who went astray due to the circumstances would acquire exposure to the vast society inundated with crime lords. This environment even exacerbates the persons who committed minor crimes. For instance, if an adolescent commits a little crime such as theft or a violation of road rules, he should be dealt with distinctly rather than placing him in jail. So that he could get an opportunity to become more obedient than before. On the other hand, community services will do better rather than keeping them in prisons. As mentioned earlier, individuals who committed crimes due to their circumstances should be provided an opportunity to become a good-persons. This is where social services play a vital role. When the criminals undergo social service, such as cleaning the colleges, painting the libraries, and other social service activities, they would probably get a huge time to think about their mistakes and they realize to never make them again. To conclude, although prisons are designed to house criminals, society should be more focused on mitigating the crimes. This can be achieved by deputing criminals who committed minor crimes to the community services rather than putting them up in jails.