Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Linguists and scientists alike believe that primary school, as opposed to secondary school is a better time for children to learn foreign languages. Children pick up languages quicker the younger they are, so it is of absolute certainty that starting as early as possible is the superior move along with other advantages. One evident benefit from learning a language in primary school, rather than any time later can be shown by numerous scientific studies carried out by scientists that specialise in neuroscience. Many experts have agreed upon the speculation that learning a language comes the easiest when a person is young. Another clear advantage stems from the fact that taking upon studying a language has proven to be quite the fruitful activity, as doing so brings about a great deal of brain activity, which in turn exersises the brain. Therefore, such an undertaking undeniably provides the child with additional intelligence. There is however, a disadvantage, primarily concerning child's daily life and health. Firstly, as productive as learning a language may be, it is still not a very starightforward task to do. Studying languages demands an immense amount of effort, perseverance and time, which in turn produces stress. As a result, it not only afflicts negative mood and other mental difficulties, but also deprives the child of leisure time. Thus, while a number of advantages are present, from those advantages come several disadvantages, many of which may affect children's mental states and health. Maintaining proper routine in order to avoid stress gets rid of those disadvantages, however.