Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety.

Recently, road traffic accidents have become an overwhelming issue in public safety.There is a belief that it is better to punish strictly those who are driving badly while some people hold the idea that to take other effective measures instead.In my perspective, it is worth punishing for unsafe driving. In this essay, I will discuss both views and try to draw some conclusions. Road traffic accidents not only affect the community but also the state. Recent studies have found that the government had to pay annually, a huge cost on health related to road traffic accidents. Consequently, lossing the lives of the people and being disabled with restricted activities of daily living are the negative impacts which affect the economy of the country. hence, if people are punished for the offences they try to follow the security options their selves as much as possible. On the other hand, although the government has introduced a set of rules and regulations on road safety, most people are unaware. Therefore, it is necessary to hold awareness programmes, advertisement and display safety precautions and sign posts in public areas. For instance, traffic light system and traffic signs play a major role in the safety of both drivers as well as pedestrians.So that, the occurrence of traffic accidents can be controlled to some extent. In conclusion, by launching punishments and fines, both drivers and pedestrians can be controlled and it is the responsibility of the government to enhance the awareness of the public. Thus, I strongly suppose that strict punishments for driving offences may lead to minimising traffic accidents.