To solve the ever-increasing environmental hazards throughout the world, the best way is to increase the price of fuel. What is your opinion on the above assumption?

Since the inception of Humankind we have been cohabitating together with the nature. Although our living standards have improved, but the question remains, are we taking care about our environment as well? No doubt, this question has remained a matter of controversy and debate. Many pundits believe that hiking petrol fuel and diesel prices is the optimal way to flourish our ecosystem. Supercially, it makes sense because expensive fuel prices will decrease people's reliance on their vehicles. This will force them to resort to eco-friendly and inexpensive transport medium, and perhaps could even discourage financially capacitated individuals to use vehicles when it is an absolute necessity. Take an average middle-class income group resident. He often leaves on paycheck-to-paycheck and exorbitant fuel prices will leave him no choice but to keep a check on his monthly vehicle mileage. Interestingly enough, it could also drop the prices of electrical cars as more demand will ensure more competition in the EV market; this is possible because those companies could offer incentives, such as discounts, free insurance and so on, to capture the new automobile market. As mentioned above, it could create more income divide between various income groups. This is not healthy for a nation that aims to maintain balance between various economic sections of the society. Therefore, spreading awareness about the contemporary environment issues is more appropriate choice. The government could use public infomercials to attain this. This is a good measure because it could reach the masses using public forecast tools, such as radios and TV. Schools are another better place because the current young ones are the future nation builders. By gaining environmental education, they will be more considerate towards the nature when they grow up. Considering the both sides of an argument, I believe that rising fuel prices could understandably decrease the fuel combustion. But it's knock-on effects on our people, specifically the underprivileged ones, cannot be overlooked. To conclude, I do not believe that the expensive petrol and diesel costs is a prudent choice and if these were to come into existence, it should be taken as last resort when nothing works out.