The internet is a great source of information and has opened up opportunities for people to learn all over the world. Is all information on the internet reliable? What could be done to control information online?

In the present days, the internet has been a space to share and get information for everyone, both old and young. The presence has made learning new knowledge or mastering skills easier. This essay will firstly explain why not all information on the internet is not trusted and secondly, elaborate several steps which can be done by authorities to manage information spread on the internet. Anyone could upload information on the internet without ensuring the truth, or even consciously spreading hoaxes for hidden agendas. For instance, some news of the death of a number of superstars spread quickly on social media such as Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok, although they are still alive. This news could spread quickly because some fans do not profoundly check the truth about the death of their superstar and immediately share it to their social media. The same thing also happens to other types of fake information, this is why we cannot trust news and information on the internet directly. Authorities have to make strict regulations about uploading information and take down hoaxes on the internet regularly. Making strict regulations and public policies as preemptive steps such as giving longer imprisonment and bigger fines to perpetrators. These steps could make people think twice before uploading news to the internet. Additionally, authorities could delete fake information frequently to reduce the number of hoaxes on the internet. By doing these steps, authorities would be able to control information on the internet. In conclusion, people cannot believe all information on the internet since many people are irresponsible for what they have shared. Moreover, authorities could give heavy sanctions and fines to perpetrators as well as delete hoaxes to control information online.