Many people today do not feel safe either at home or when they are out. What are the causes? Do you think this will be the case in the future?

Most individuals these days have a sense of insecurity both at home and outdoors. There are several reasons that can lead to this phenomenon. I think that some reasons critically outweigh the rest, so let’s deep dive into the most significant ones. At first, individuals may not feel safe at home due to the presence of domestic violence or abusive relationships. Individuals who are physically or mentally abused may fear for their safety and well-being within their own homes. Moreover, nowadays fewer and fewer people tend to know their neighbours due to various mental and urban reasons and consequently, this lack of information about the identity and personality of neighbours may result in a sense of insecurity even at home. Secondly, disparities in the quality of education, and lack of employment opportunities due to the rising populations and economic conditions raise social unrest and crime among individuals. Those people who are in the lowest socio-economic classes may be prone to show violent behaviour in public. Moreover, one of the main reasons that cause insecurity may relate to high crime rates in certain urban areas due to above-mentioned reasons on socio-economic factors. This phenomenon of insecurity will most likely be the case going forward too, as socio-economic conditions, and urban and mental factors are expected to deteriorate in most parts of the world. Moreover, fast technological advancement is unfortunately negatively affecting the driver of this phenomenon too. In conclusion, people may feel unsafe both at home and in public due to different mental, urban, and socio-economic factors. This feeling is likely to continue in the future due to worsening conditions and technological changes.