Nowadays tourism generates a significant part of national income for many countries, but it has certain drawbacks too. This essay will examine the advantage and disadvantages of tourism and provide a logical conclusion

In today's contemporary world, tourism is considered an ever-growing industry which provides a significant income to many countries. This essay will discuss the potential advantages and disadvantages of such an industry with relevant examples. on the one hand, tourism brings immense benefits to the host country. Firstly, when people flock to visit historical places, the money they bring in goes straight to the restoration of those places. In addition, it draws the attention of people from all over the world which contributes a portion of income to the state. Secondly, such income could be used for the development of the country's infrastructure and improvement of facilities which in turn helps to shape the community pride and beautification. For instance, a recent study shows that an average of 40% of income in India is generated from the tourism industry. On the other hand, some of the potential drawbacks to tourism are the depletion of resources and the loss of cultural values. In other words, natural resources are depleted in order to provide improved infrastructure which leads to habitat destruction. Such pressure on flora and fauna has contributed to environmental challenges that we are facing today such as climate change and global warming. Furthermore, people are permitted to immunise against unhealthy penetration of foreign cultures which has caused significant cultural loss. For example, it is evident that English has become the most common language that is predominantly used for communication in India due to the increase in the number of visitors. In conclusion, there are a plethora of benefits to the host country based on tourism in terms of income and access to facilities as well as certain demerits concerning environmental damage and preservation of culture.