In recent times, many people are making the decision to live alone. What are the causes of this? Does it have positive or negative impacts?

Nowadays, living in a single household has become a choice for certain people on how they want to live their lives. This essay will discuss the reason behind this, and also both sides of the consequences. Increasing individualism in society has affected people in thinking that living alone has more benefits than cohabitating with others. Especially for those who have priorities that only circle around themselves. There are individuals who are willing to dedicate themselves to their job and this may require them to have undivided focus. In addition, economic factors may also contribute to this decision. A higher income and the affordability of single living, enable more people to choose to live alone without financial dependency on others. However, the downside is also worth to be considered. According to Maslow's Theory of Needs, a sense of belongingness is one of the foundations of human needs. Living alone may cause uneasy feelings such as loneliness and isolation and could affect a person's overall well-being. Furthermore, the energy consumption of a single household may not be as efficient as a household of families. Thus, the use of less-efficient energy consumption may have a negative impact towards the environment. To conclude, the reasons behind living in a single household do have some benefit such as having a dedicated focus on work and financial security. Nevertheless, this way of life also has some negative implications that as feeling of isolation and energy inefficiency.