Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Associating the high sales of consumer products with the dominance of advertising is an arguable debate subject, with advocating adverts as a source of power in today's world. I firmly opine that advertisements play a pivotal role in supporting consumerism. The first and foremost argument is that using advertisements might lead to an increase in the rate of consumerism in any country. It is undeniable to say that they use more famous and glamorous people in their brands to create artificial wants. These wants do not reflect the real needs of humans. To cite an example, Nike and Adidas regularly sponsor renowned football players to improve their sales and it attracts people's draw to afford these goods which are not worth saving in the long-term. Another issue is that several companies can not earmark sufficient money for advertisements to compete with the global and popular ones that emerged after the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991. This unbalanced rivalry among firms might open a door to improving their popularity and having few choices that people tend to opt them while global companies use gimmicks. For instance, There are least restaurants, which people regularly use, such as KFC, Mcdonald's, etc in Azerbaijan. Their powers in the local market create a sufficient environment to trick people using gimmicks. To conclude, although people believe that advertisements are beneficial, and can be used to find out what they want, advertisements shape the trend of consumer goods in a negative way.