A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What is the cause ?How might the problems be reduced?

There is a rising concern related to the imbalance of living standards between rural areas and urban ones. This problem stems from the countries economic development mainly concentrates on cities, yet it can be tackled by decentralization which spreads opportunities and investment in rural areas. One of the principal causes of the inequality between rural areas and cities is most central industries and top-tier institutions are located in urban areas. Because of this, individuals have a tendency to migrate to cities in order to gain higher education, opportunities to thrive and have better access to goods and services there. Consequently, the economy in urban areas is pushed up rapidly while it is behindhand in rural ones. This concentration contributes to the rise of living standards in cities. Take China as a prime example where the household income in Beijing was over 30 times higher than the other provinces. To counter the effect, authorities are better off offer more opportunities and investments in the countryside. This decentralization includes establishing more central industries for residents to gain the desired jobs, promote small businesses and invest in rural infrastructure. Additionally, utilizing more technology devices in the countrysides also fastens the progress and give access to networks or even to co-operation between cities and countryside. For instance, Indonesia has utilized this method budgeting, give assistance to infrastructure and social services. Therefore, the standard of living between rural areas and cities is not equilibrium owing to too much concentration on cities. Nevertheless, it can be solved by offering more chances and support to the countryside