Freshwater is a limited resource in certain regions of the world. Today, the escalating demand has transformed it into a global problem. What are the causes of increasing demand? What measures can governments and individuals take to respond to the problem?

Water resources protection has become one of the most pressing environmental issues in an increasingly globalised world, especially freshwater. This essay will consider the causes of and suggest possible solutions to it. Perhaps the biggest reason is the number of factories and industries increased dramatically which will directly cause environmental pollution, such as rubbish and wastewater discharged into the ocean. It is conceivable that the consequences will be serious. For example, if a large number of marine life die, people's health will be worse quickly. What is more, with more vehicles coming out, the more carbon emissions will produced, which means that it will significantly affect air quality and thus water quality. There will be less and less drinking water for people. Turning to possible solutions, probably the most effective measure is for the government to impose some policies to ban or hider these ways, increasing environment protection activities regularly which all the companies will engaged in, holding some related lecture to let people know as much as possible about the disadvantages of harming the environment. It is also necessary to regulate individuals' behaviour, not throw rubbish everywhere, raising awareness of protecting the environment, as they know the most fundamental harmful to their physical health from the poor water environment, they will pay more attention to it. To sum up, the impact that caused water pollution by factories, industries and vehicles is profound and requires the government's and our immediate attention and actions.There are ample solutions to this environmental concern.