Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local culture and the environment is often ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It’s a common belief that tourism plays an important role in growing industries fast and developing the economy word-wide. Nevertheless, its culture and the environment can be affected due to the damage tourism. From my perspective, I complete agree with this idea because of following reasons. To begin with, when a large number of visitors come to another place, its culture will be easily changed. This can be explained by the fact that each person has each own customs and way of doing things, which can lead to a loss of local identity. According to a recent survey from many Australian researchers, in many cities, due to tourism, many local shops and restaurants are closed down and replaced by multinational chain stores. Thus, the damage tourism causes a large number of disadvantages for the nations, especially disappearing its own cultures and customs. On the top of that, people nowadays care lessly about the environment such as beaches, rivers, etc because of paying too much their concentration in making a lot of money. This can be understood by the fact that because tourism is increasing significantly, the economy of countries is gradually improved, and this will make people think that they have to make more and more money to follow trends, and thus the environment is affected seriously. For example, wildlife witnessed many negative impacts because of being lack of human attention. In summary, people should spend time on caring much about the environment; otherwise, its diverse of the ecosystem will be damaged sharply. In conclusion, tourism not only affected local cultures but also the diverse of the habitat. For these reasons, I insist that tourism has many negative impacts on people’s life as well as the nation’s development.