The animal species are becoming extinct due to human activities on land and in sea. What are the reasons and solutions? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experiences.

It is widely believed that humans are responsible for the extermination of animals. The main reason for this is that people are polluting animal habitats by carelessly releasing chemical compounds into the environment. However, a sustainable chemical usage policy can be a viable solution. I am going to elucidate the idea in the following paragraphs. Our reckless chemical usage is the root cause of environmental degradation, which is resulting in animal extinction. We are constantly introducing such chemicals which are contaminating our air, soil and seas. Air pollutants include carbon monoxide, sulphur dioxide and nitrogen oxides; water and soil pollutants are heavy metals such as mercury, cadmium and lead, along with pesticide and herbicide compounds. All these factors work in synergy and interfere with the metabolism of animals, leading to a fast extinction. Large-bodied animals and rare species are even more prone to these human-made disasters because their habitats and lives are more sensitive to any environmental changes. These annihilating activities can disrupt our ecological processes like pollination and seed distribution and lead to a collapse of the food chain, which accelerates further destruction. However, governments can address this issue effectively by implementing a sustainable chemical policy. They should provide their citizens with specific guidelines on how to use chemical compounds without causing environmental damage. A stern action should be taken against the individual who does not obey the law and order regarding this issue. Furthermore, human beings should be informed how the biochemical process is causing ecological disasters, which is leading to the extinction of several marine and land species. To do this, governments can organize massive awareness campaigns every year, which can help disseminate information about environmental vulnerability, demonstrate the harmless way of chemical usage and share the importance of ecological protection. To conclude, by releasing hazardous chemical compounds, humankind is constantly contaminating the environment, which is pushing various species to the verge of extinction. However, proper law enforcement, regular awareness campaigns and punitive measures against polluters can save the environment and the endangered species.