Education for young people is important in many countries. However, some people think that the government should spend more money on education in adult populations who cannot read and write. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experiences.

Though education for young people is a must, there is an argument that government funds should be more focused on the education of aged ones with a lack of basic literacy. I strongly agree with this statement because the illiterate adult population is lagging far behind the rest, and this scenario is impacting their individual well-being which has a knock-on effect on the overall economy. I am going to elucidate the idea in the following paragraphs. People who cannot read and write encounter many difficulties in their lives. For employment opportunities, they can only do simple low-paid jobs and are unlikely to work for a business due to the lack of basic skills and certificates. Most companies today require candidates, even blue workers, to have at least a high school degree. As a result, they will not receive any insurance in case of sickness or pension when resigning. They would belong to the disadvantaged group who easily become jobless at any time, especially during an economic crisis. In their daily lives, the inability to read and write leads to their shortage of knowledge and information about the world. Illiterate people cannot stay updated with the current affairs around them. When bad weather events such as storms occur, they are slow to respond and may lose all assets. When there is a new scam, they are the most vulnerable group. When they are a victim of crimes such as physical abuse, they are most likely to endure the pain by themselves since they do not know where to seek help. The increased literacy in the adult population can contribute positively to the economy of a country. Literacy skills enable people to learn new skills and knowledge, and thus improve their career prospects. A better educated workforce will also be more productive and generate more value, which would enhance the country’s economic strength. Children and young people who have parents with higher levels of literacy usually receive a better education in the family and develop skills needed for the next-generation workforce. Furthermore, it is widely known that a lower unemployment rate can lessen strains on the social security system. That is how literacy level impacts economic growth. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the government should divert more funds to adult literacy because it can help them to secure their rights and make an impact on future generations. In fact, an educated age group has a trickle-down effect on the economy as a whole.