You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While smoking is widely recognized as one of the most addictive and unhealthy habits, a significant number of individuals persist in this behaviour. I believe that the attraction of instantaneous gratification during smoking inhalation, combined with positive perceptions of certain individuals, contributes to its desirability. Employing psychological strategies as well as involving government support are pragmatic approaches to address this addiction. First of all, the age of smoking has been decreasing with a continuous trend among the young generation of people, resulting in many diseases as well as discomfort. It is important to acknowledge that smoking is one of the most obsessive habits that any person could possess due to the perilous chemicals such as nicotine. For instance, scientists have proved that nicotine consumption is highly addictive and has the capability to enslave people who are addicted to it. Secondly, there is also a group of individuals who contend that smoking cigarettes relieves their stress somehow. By inhaling smoke they are able to control their stress level amid times of difficulty as the smoke which is rich in certain substances annihilates many neurons and healthy cells, once it is inhaled into the human body. Therefore, people who have to perform in an environment with excessive stress tend to smoke cigarettes. On the other hand, giving up smoking habits is not easy and requires an unwavering decision and immense dedication to the purpose. Commencing a public psychological war on smoking will have a corresponding impact on the diminishing portion of smokers in society. In addition to that public awareness campaigns such as the integration of anti-smoking education programmes and conducting seminars in workshops and public areas to discourage people from smoking and eventually for them to forswear this jeopardizing behaviour. To conclude, despite the majority of the population being aware of the risks and consequences associated with smoking, however, some of them still keep smoking because they are too addictive to give it up. Raising public awareness and strengthening the mental abilities to fight off smoking are the most efficient solutions to prevent people from smoking.