In some countries, companies allow people to work from home. In others, people are still expected to work in an office. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In some nations, corporations allow individuals to work remotely while others expect folks to work from the office. Although working remotely can reduce the company expenses,I believe working at the headquarters could increase productivity which leads to more benefits to the firm. Remote working could benefit enterprises by pushing down their expenditure. This is because by working from home it could reduce the company's operational bill such as electricity. Other than that, companies could also cut down transportation and food incentives for their workers since they no longer commuting to the workplace and eating office dishes. For example, a company in Surabaya, Indonesia has a positive yearly financial report by reducing their operational costs after they allowed the employee to work remotely. However, I think that the productivity boost is more important than reducing financial burden. On the other hand, allowing individuals to come to the workplace could boost productivity. This is because people have better ideas on how to solve their work problems by discussing and working together with their workmates physically. Research conducted by The University of Edinburgh in 2022 stated that people who work hand in hand with their workmates in the office have higher fruitfulness and a higher chance to be promoted by 20% rather than folks working individuals at home. Furthermore, increasing employee productivity could also lead to increase in profitability and maintaining innovation and sustainability. Research conducted in Indonesia, stated that a company increased their profit by 5% yearly after they hired a group of people with high productivity and allowed them to work from the office. Therefore, I believe that working in the office would not only be beneficial for individuals but also for the company. To conclude, despite the fact that remote working is beneficial by reducing operational costs, in my view increasing workers’ productivity by working in the office is better because it leads to increasing company earnings.