International tourism has become a huge industry in the world. Do the problems of international travel outweigh its advantages?

It is commonly believed that worldwide tourism has become the leading sector in many countries, even though it also caused numerous detrimental impacts, and the elaboration of those sides will be elaborated in this essay. On the one hand, the hospitality sector caused massive harmful effects on some sectors due to tourism activities. Firstly, tourists or excursionists can vacation in some destinations and and they do social communication with the local community. Hence, this circumstance could affect acculturation, and influence snowball effects, such as degradation of local culture. Taking Bali as an example, the best destination in the world has been experiencing acculturation, and it caused some of the locals to change their habits. In Bali, the hosts are prohibited to recolor their hair. Nonetheless, since this destination has been visited by a lot of tourists who have hair blonde, brown, and red, this affects the new colour trend for local people, and they did recolour their hair. Secondly, it also had a negative effect on the environment of Bali ’s destination. The numerous tourists who come to Bali also contribute in waste. As an illustration, suburbs in Bali only get the rubbish as a consequence of tourism activities, even though these suburbs are not tourist destination areas. Because of this, suburbs are suffering because of tourist waste. On the one hand, admittedly, tourism also has a lot of positive effects on destinations. This sector gives a massive number of foreign exchanges, and it rockets increased the number of regional incomes. Putting Yogyakarta city as a model, this one of destinations in Indonesia has become a big cultural tourism destination in South East Asia, and succesfully increased the regional income by the hospitality sector. Hence, the rise of growth in regional income in this city is used to improve on the welfare of local society, buildings, and transportation. To conclude, although the tourism sector is one of the leading sectors in this world, it still has disadvantages that outweigh the advantages as aforementioned above.