Some people believe that old buildings should be replaced with more modern ones. Other people argue that we should protect old buildings because they have special value. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The necessity of preserving old buildings is widely debated. Some maintain that they are irreplaceable due to their sentimental value to local citizens. Contrastingly, others advocate that replacements are vital to endure safety. From my perspective, I espouse the latter as safety comes first in constructions. The replacement of old buildings causes strong backlash among local residents as they have a sentimental value. These buildings have been integral parts of their lives and, when local people look at them, it rekindles thousands of memories from one’s childhood to adulthood. Under such circumstances, it is understandable that demolishing these buildings is regarded as depriving one’s memories. For example, some articles introduced that urban regeneration in Tokyo triggered severe depression among a group of local citizens. They claimed that they felt isolated in their town, as it bore little resemblance to what they had been. On the other hand, periodical replacements are necessary in terms of safety. Long standing buildings cannot bear comparison with modern ones in durability. Even if they are properly maintained, it still cannot bridge the gap. This is because modern buildings are designed to meet the rigorous standard of construction and are made of advanced materials, particularly at their foundations. To illustrate this, the majority of Japanese people eschew living in apartments that were constructed more than three decades ago, as they carry the greater risk of fatal injuries in case an earthquake happens. Indeed, old towns reported a substantial number of deceased people in the Great Kanto Earthquake of 1923. To summarize, it is understandable that replacements of old architecture are disappointing to local citizens. Nevertheless, people must accept it to ensure safety as I believe nothing can be prioritized over safety.