People think that the government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

It is widely believed that one solution to address environmental issues would be that governments should impose high costs for private cars and other means of transportation. While I consider that might be a useful short-term measure, I would argue that others might have even greater impact in the long-term period. If national authorities increased the price of petrol, it would solve two crucial environmental problems. Firstly, in terms of private cars, motorists would limit the number and the length of their trip to compensate for the extra expense. Governments could use the money raised to invest more in transport infrastructure and to enhance residents' awareness of public transport and environmental threats. Secondly, from the perspective of freight services, some companies would transport their goods by rails rather than by trucks to save their operation cost. Both these activities could cut down on emissions and reduce the greenhouse effect. On the other hand, while the increased cost of fuel could be executed as an interim solution, I think governments should adopt two policies to address environmental problems efficiently in the future. Governments could support the research and development process of electronic cars and other vehicles operated by renewable energy. In Germany, for instance, the local authorities have subsidized 1,000 USD for every person converting from a fuel car to an electronic one and reduced taxation for electrical automakers. Another policy is to quickly and widely develop means of public transport which will apply cutting-edge technologies to attract such users. These policies could bring sustainable benefits such as helping in the effort to combat global warming and improving the quality of air. In conclusion, although increasing the cost of fuel might be useful in tackling many environmental problems, other measures should be implemented by governments to gain long-term achievements.