There are fewer controls over the design and construction of home and office building. So, people can build them however they like. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages ?

There has been an increasing trend to date regarding increased ownership over the design and construction of different buildings such as houses and offices. There are numerous downsides to this trend, however, I believe the advantages greatly outweigh the bad. One concern for most plans for buildings is the cost. It is inevitable for proprietors to seek a cost-efficient method if possible. For instance, the materials and equipment needed for construction most of the time have marked-up prices since it is supplied mainly by contractors, who only buy from different suppliers. With more liberation, people can now canvass different materials directly from suppliers and choose among which they seem to fit within their budget. Furthermore, people seeking to layout will not be limited to an expert's suggestion. In other words, they will be able to outline the building from their imagination if they would like. After they have constructed an image of how they want it to be built, they can just seek consultation for polishing and improvement to their heart's content. On the other hand, a possible consequence of people with lesser controls is poor planning on the functionality, durability and overall aesthetic of the infrastructure. For instance, some rooms may not follow the standard size conducive for living or some materials that have been chosen may not be able to withstand natural calamities should they occur. However, these may be refuted if these owners consult different professionals such as architects or engineers. in conclusion, it is true that less control over plans and construction can lead to poor planning. however, this is greatly outweighed by cost efficiency by directly purchasing from suppliers and full control over the design.