Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the context of the 21st century, children intend to spend plenty of hours on playing video games or chatting with their friends on their phones. I consider this habit, which wastes a lot of time, is pretty harmful to young people due to the reasons discussed in this essay. Firstly, the most important reason which leads directly to this problem is the development of modern devices. In the industrialized century, teenagers have more opportunities to approach myriads of technological gadgets as young as they can which means their habit of using phones is disadvantageous. Besides, they are willing to explore sensitive information on the Internet. Secondly, paying too much attention to phones can reduce the time they spend on outdoor activities as well as exercises. They tend to be imprisoned in the apartment and usually communicate with their friends through chatting on phones. One of the significant causes is the Covid-19 pandemic. This disease has increased the percentage of the young generation using phones dramatically. What is more, there are more online classes, which have been a trend in the pandemic, so young people surf the web for learning and can’t get out of it. As a result, they are unaccustomed to talking with their relatives as well as doing physical training. In conclusion, it is clear from the data that this phenomenon has made plenty of fundamental causes and we must solve and prevent. As a whole, it is certainly negative for the youth and it will affect badly to humans and society in the future.