The education of young people is highly prioritised in many countries. However, educating adults who cannot write or read is even more important and governments should spend more money on this. To what extent do you agree and or disagree?

In most countries, providing the best education to young people is becoming a main goal. Nevertheless, some believe that teaching adults who are not able to write or read is much more crucial, and it needs more funds to be run. I completely disagree with that statement due to reasons that will be discussed in the following paragraph. Specifically speaking of Indonesia, the number of illiterate groups is much lower these days in comparison to 20 years ago. Also, we are headed to the fact that Indonesia has numerous youngsters of productive age. Focusing on only one side, which is the illiterate group, may abandon the other one, which may have detrimental effects on the whole country. Hence, the main target must still be investing in youngsters' education. Instead, the government can support the illiterate by holding educational events, such as weekend reading clubs at social houses. By doing this, the number of people who can’t read or write can be decreased without spending too much money. Furthermore, we have many literacy aids nowadays. In public places, we see instructions followed by pictures that describe the messages. An illustration of this can be seen at the stations; there are symbols and arrows that are colour-coded, all of which are ubiquitous here. Also, the directions are also informed by human voices, which are operated automatically. Getting access to information in public places is easy. Lastly, with the advancement of artificial technology, the transformation of data is fast, affordable, and handy. For example, low-end handphones are able to operate voice recognition, and as a result, they do not need to type, which means the illiterate population can do messaging. In conclusion, the government is not compelled to spend huge amounts of money to educate the illiterate. Because their population is limited, they may employ technology to assist them in understanding and producing information.