Nowadays, most countries improve the standard of living through economic development. But some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Economics is undoubtedly an important part of the growth of a country, however, some people claim that the quick development of economics would cause serious problems such as the loss of social values. The prosperity in economics greatly improves individuals’ life quality in many ways. Firstly, the increasing amount of expenditure dramatically raises the tax revenue collected by governments. This revenue can be used effectively to enhance the infrastructure in cities, which contributes to the improvement of individuals’ lives. More specifically, electric network, transport system can be established to meet individuals’ daily needs, scale of schools and apartments can be expanded to ensure more opportunities for not only children but also workers. Moreover, the increasing funding for technological innovations can also be taken into account. According to the long history of human beings, innovations have always promoted the progress of society. Machines liberated labour, phones convenient communications, vehicles significantly shortened the time needed for us to travel. However, an opposite voice declares that some problems also appear as the result of rapid financial advancement. A higher speed of economic growth requires a higher working intensity. Nowadays, even the 996 work schedule appears, which means workers have to work twelve hours a day, six days a week. The heavy agenda reduces the time that can be spent on recreation or entertainment, causing a serious stress issue, and it can also cause physical issues for employees. In addition, individuals always connect happiness with income, in other words, with their consumption level, because more money earned means more commodities are able to be purchased and the substances owned create a consolidated foundation for daily lives. Nevertheless, this opinion can be superficial and obey the social value. In traditional social values, happiness can be generated through not only materials in real lives, but also spirits created by relationships, social identities, and even self-achievements. In conclusion, although it is admittedly that a speed up development in economics has its drawbacks both physical and mental, economic development is the general tendency of the world and can provide numerous benefits that outweigh the disadvantages.