Some people think more public money should be spent on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

How to spend public money wisely fuels a debate about whether it needs to eschew the outgoings of the mass transit system in favour of roads and motorways. From my perspective, the government should not tilt the balance on either side, and both measures should work collaboratively to address traffic problems in cities. On the one hand, there is no doubt that infrastructure plays a key role in urban and rural areas, in which well-built roads and motorways can not only facilitate people to travel from one place to another, but grow the local economy with advanced transportation networks, thereby improving the regional living standard as a whole. For example, residents are able to reach most areas in the US by driving because of convenient road traffic built by local governments. It shortens the distance between regions; thus, people are able to commute in an efficient and effective manner. As a result, Americans have more choices to shop and more chances to land jobs in other cities. On the other hand, it should pay the same attention to investing in public transport service. As a major means of transportation in most cities, railway, subway and bus are irreplaceable for ordinary people who cannot afford to buy private cars or parking fees downtown. Furthermore, the city may be congested with automobiles without cheap and well-run public transport. This can result in severe repercussions in the country. For example, traffic jam has become a norm in a great number of metropolises, such as New Deli, London, and so on, which makes local authorities encourage commuters to take public transport, instead of driving by themselves. In conclusion, while we can benefit from spending on advanced road transportation in many aspects, the investment in public transit should not be ignored by governments.