Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that children should be motivated to be more competitive, while others feel that teaching them to be cooperative will be of more value as they enter adulthood. I believe that while competition can help young people be successful, cooperation is more important because it teaches them to work within a team, a crucial interpersonal skill. Some argue that instilling a sense of competition in children helps them to achieve success in whatever they do. This is because being competitive creates a drive to win, which further teaches them that hard work and self disciplines are keys for such wins. For example, it is pften the case that children who participte participated in competitive sports are less likely to quit when outcomes are unfavourable and difficult. Hence, they would be more likely to overcome obstacles and setbacks in any of their life events. Despite this, I would argue that children require lesson on teamwork more than the will to win. If children are taught to be cooperative, they learn the importance of working in a team, which is someting adults are expected to do. Through working with others, children learn not only how to respect different opinions but also how to pool their strengths. For instance, preschools include cooperation as one of the first essential skills in their curriculum. This is because, educators recognize that it is a vital social skills in all ways of life. I, therefore, belive that teaching children to work with others is more important than giving them a sense of competition. To summarize, while equipting a competitive mindset might help young people to succed in life, I am of the opinion that teaching them to be cooperative would grant them with ability to work as part of the team and community which is far more valuable later in life.