Some cities have vehicle-free days, when private cars, trucks, motorcycles are banned in the city center. Public transportation like buses, taxis and metros are advised. To what extent do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In some urban areas, there are special days, known as car-free days, where public transportation is the only means of transport allowed into the centre of town. Privately owned cars, heavy-duty trucks and motorbikes are prohibited from the town centre. While this development has some merits such as reducing air pollution and congestion, it can have demerits such as increased inconvenience in getting from one place to another. However, I believe the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, the main advantages of vehicle-free days are a reduction in carbon emissions and vehicular traffic. Firstly, vehicle-free days ensure that fewer cars are driven around leading to a reduction in the total fumes produced by these vehicles. Hence, there is a lowered amount of pollutants released into the atmosphere. Research has concluded that the total amount of harmful gases released into London's atmosphere was halved when it implemented car-free days. Secondly, car-free days ensure that there is less traffic in the city centre. When there are fewer cars, vehicular movement is improved. Furthermore, parking spaces become available for alternative purposes. For instance, large parking lots can be used for boot sales and other events such as music shows. On the other hand, the main disadvantage of allowing public transport only on certain days, is the difficulty it places on the ease of movement by individuals from one place to another. This is because when people travel to the urban centres with their personal cars, they can get to their exact destinations easily. People do not have to wait long hours for buses and trains. Sometimes, individuals may have to walk long distances to get to their destinations because trains and buses are consistently full due to the huge number of people. In conclusion, the decision by some cities to have vehicle-free days by prohibiting private transport while allowing public transportation has some benefits namely, reduced atmospheric pollution and vehicular congestion which clearly outweigh drawbacks such as reduced convenience of travel.