Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an ever-increasing demand for learning languages from another country, especially in this globalization era. It is often argued that this issue only matters for selective occasions such as vacations or business matters, whilst others disagree as studying other languages has many objectives and intentions. This essay agrees with the latter opinion, as we should embrace how understanding local words and voices matters to communities. Individuals who have specific purposes often choose to learn a quick path to communicate easily with residents when they travel overseas. For temporary and short-term visits, these options are suitable to highlight the important aspects and urgencies. However, these actions diminish the variety of meanings contained within the words. Tourists and expatriates visiting a foreign country can only communicate with officials or colleagues from the same mother tongue, thus creating a language barrier and misunderstanding between others. Therefore, there are other reasons that a person opts for learning new languages. Some groups want to learn about their cultures through films, songs, or books, while others need to embrace the local environment and its daily practices for conducting research or interested in their habits and customs. Some people are seeking agreement to contribute to mutual relationships, such as business, international relations, and other types of cooperation. In conclusion, while individuals mainly benefit from the convenience of global integration by studying only the surface of the languages for temporary actions, some still feel that people should be aware that other groups are interested in deepening their resources and contributing more to other countries. However, as long as the public considers the importance of reducing the barrier, the benefits of learning a foreign language must be supported.