Many manufacturered food and drink products contain high lever of sugar which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, health risks caused by higher sugar -containing beverages or food have increased a wide concern. Especially, after the development of the food industry, the price of those products become more affordable. Even though increasing the cost of those produce may not be the most effective solution, this essay aims to support that this method is reasonable to apply. Increasing the price of higher sugar contained products would firstly limit teenager’s consumption. It is imaginable that despite teenagers being one of the largest sugar consumer populations, most of them lack a stable income. In other words, they would not have enough money to buy candy, if it is expensive. Therefore, once we can increase the price of those products, this group of people may consume less due to financial stress. For instance, compared with purchasing candy which may cost $10 or even higher, those kids or juveniles may prefer to save their money. Additionally, even for adults who have a stable income, reason for them to buy this sugar product is because it is usually more economical. For example, the price of a normal cake would way much cheaper than a whole-grain bread. As a result, once they realise the growth of the prince of that sugar contained product, they tend to buy the healthy ones. To illustrate this, rather than pay for a much more expensive Coke, people may tend to buy beverages such as yoghurt or milk, which would be way more healthy. In conclusion, by limiting the purchase intention, the increased price of sugar products could both benefit the younger and senior generations. Specifically, in this situation, teenagers may tend to save money and adults would allocate the budget to healthy food. Both changed behaviour would lead to less sugar product consumption.