Some people think that language should be taught in small classes, while other people think the number of students in a language class does not matter. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views on whatever class sizes matters for language courses. While some agrue that large classes can allow teacher to focus more on providing quality content, I believe that teaching in small groups can cater to individual needs of each student. On one hand, when teachers do not need to care about the number of students, they can focus more on improving class contents. Teachers can provide more general suggestions that can be applied to all kinds of student, or even conduct class activities that are only possible in a large group of students. For instance, teachers can organize in- class debate competitions so students can present their ideas with dozens of people, helping them to build self confidence in a public speaking situation. Teacher can also collect extensive data from the large sample of students, and adjust the teaching materials more effectively. On the other hand, I believe that teaching in small classes is better because teachers can provide personlized personalised content to each individual students according to their needs. When the course only consist a handful of student, it is much easier for the teacher to manage the class and track the progress of each student. For example, teachers can conduct one-to-one conversation practices with students, and point out specific problems from their performances. As each student may encounter different difficulties on their language studies, it is my belief that students can improve better if personlized personalised advices can be given by the teacher. In conclusion, although teacher can focus more on the general course content in a large class, I think that it is more important to give personlized advices to each student according to their needs in a small class environment.